Chevrolet Nova Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
938 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently got an Arc welder for welding thicker metal together. I just got it wired up today and started playing with it. I was playing around trying to weld a 3/16" wall 2.5" diameter pipe to a 1/4" wall 3" piece of square tubing. (just using some scrap I have laying around) The first time I did it things looked OK then I decided to really test it out so I got a claw hammer and started striking it to see if it would seperate. After 4 strikes sure enough the weld broke. So I flip the pipe over (clean end) and weld it to a different place on the square tubing. This time I struck it about a dozen times as hard as I could and it did not brake. So I moved up and welded two 3" square 1/4" thick wall pieces together in a "T" and beat the heck out of it to see if it would brake. It didn't brake so I am assuming this means I have solid welds. While I'm new to Arc welding and my beeds are not the best looking it seems they are strong. Is their some other way I should test the strength of my welds?

By the way I am welding using the DC part of the arc welder with 3/32" rod. The welder is around 80 Amps and it takes me 2-3 passes to get a good fill in my chamfers, and I am cleaning up the weld in between passes.

·
Registered
116 Posts
You need a bigger hammer! lmao Actually, if you knocked it apart with a 16 oz hammer, it wasnt welded very good. If you wanna hammer-test it, you should use a 2 or 3 lb sledge. But the best way to make sure youre getting penetration would be to lay a couple of pieces of 1/4" plate flat and weld them together and that way you can inspect it from the backside to see how deep it penetrated. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
938 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·