Chevrolet Nova Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is anyone around here getting the snot shocked out of them like me lately? Seems like every day for the last week and a half everytime I get out of the truck I get lit up! It's gotten to the point where I've gotten into the habit of using my back or shoulder to shut the dagum door. Anyone got a ground?

Jimmy

·
Registered
128 Posts
When I used to work in a warehouse, our forklifts had white rubber tires on them. For some reason the white rubber tires would make the lift more shocking. Some built up so much static, that the arc would jump a couple of inches. the mechanic's solution was ground straps that hung underneath the lifts, and drug on the floor, just enough to allow the static to go to ground. Around here, I have actually seen a few cars that had a wire hunging from underneath, that was just long enough to touch the ground, again just enough to allow the static to go to ground.

Randy (hang it in the middle, where it won't be noticed);)

·
Registered
98 Posts
I get shocked most of the time. I found that when you are getting out of the car/truck, open door, reach out and get a hold of the outside of the door, then get out...no shock. If ya get out, then grab the door...POW. A lot depends on what your wearing also. I have a couple nylon jackets that will lite me up if I forget.

Don (helping I hope)

·
Registered
25 Posts
You end up sleeping alone but it's fun to shuffle up to the wife and zap her with a good spark off the fingertip. It is amazing how far the spark will jump in the right conditions. After the spark all hell breaks loose.

·
Registered
127 Posts