Chevrolet Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Greetings folks!

Thanks for letting me inquire here, I am actually a Corvair enthusiast!! I'm an admin over on CorvairForum.com , come over and see what else GM had to offer the compact car market in the early 60's =)

On to the point, I'm looking for a set of 14" wheels from an early (4 lug) Nova station wagon or Nova SS.

Let me know what you've got, or point me in the right direction. The whole idea is to keep it cheap, so it'd be great if you were near me, near Philly, or in north or central NJ where much of my family lives so maybe we won't need to ship the wheels.

I'm located near Scranton, PA. My town is Lake Ariel if you want to punch it into google maps or whatever.

I think I've got a line on two of the wheels, so I only "need" 2 more but I'd be happy to have some spares.

Reply here, or email me at [email protected]

Thanks for the space and your time!

·
Registered
2,884 Posts

·
Premium Member
17,540 Posts
Chevy II and the Corvair used the same four lug 13" wheel. Corvair went to a five lug 14" inch wheel in 1965 when it changed it's rear suspension in response to Ralph Nader's smear campaign from a swing axle to full IRS with the same trailing arms and half shafts that the Corvette used. (1964 had a camber compensator spring added to the swing axle as a result of the law suit).

Big Dave

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
All Corvairs came with 13" wheels, they did not go to 14"s when they went to five lugs for the 65' 2nd gen cars. The Corvair trucks did get 14's but the backspacing is much different so we cant use them on our cars.