Chevrolet Nova Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering if this is a job that I can handle and do myself. I have no experience with upholstery, but if it's something I can do, and save $150-$200 bucks...it's worth it. Can this be completed in 1 day?? Is there a detailed site that can guide me through the job? Any information would be helpful and appreciated.

Thanks

so-cal Jack

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you for the link. I am concerned about removing, and the prep before I install the headliner. What parts will I need (factory headliner clips????) , tools, materials..etc. I guess I'll have to try and see for myself, but I'm worried that I won't be prepared and make something simple.....more complex.

thanks

so-cal Jack

·
Registered
52 Posts
If you are careful removing the rods from the clips you should only need the new headliner, glue, and patience. (I still have a boatload of 1" paper clips if you need them)

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
If you have no need for the clips, I would be more than happy to take them off your hands. It would help, since I don't even know how many I will need. I would appreciate that, and it would help me get started.

Thanks

so-cal Jack

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
What exactly would a "complete" headliner kit have? Do I have to buy new rods?? I just need a list of the parts I need, and not get duped into buying a "complete headliner kit" that is only the fabric.

so-cal Jack

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Hey everyone,

I have been MIA for a while, but it's good to be back. I was wondering...Where to start for replacing my 71 Nova headliner. What needs to be removed....and what stays? Any suggestions with the what tools and materials I will need? Anyone have any leftover tools or materiasl that they don't need from doing this job?