Chevrolet Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys! as you know i'm new here. :hurray:

but to skip all that boring stuff, I have tech questions.

Situation: i am a newbie at restoring cars, but i have a friend that said he would help me ( he has 3 firebirds & i help him on weekends)I finally found the nova of my dreams for sale. a 67 nova hardtop 6 cyl. original teal blue color.

it was for sale at 6,500. i got the guy down to 6k. he says that he has all the parts! but they are all out of the car ( no problem ) it has some rust spots one looks serious (back window) but the rest look ok.

Question: is this a good price?

Question: my question is what should i be looking for in the car? that would be a deal breaker? i read up about the whole front end situations.
anything else i should be looking for?

thank you !

G

·
if you can, get a list of all the parts that come with the car. what brakes are on it, stock suspension... what's paint, interior and body look like ? get LOTS of pictures. post 'em up and let's take a look...

RUST is the biggest killer on a price. depending on location and quantity can make or break a car's price.

get lots of pics, might be worth the 6K, maybe not.

do not ever buy a car when it's with emotions... you have to be objective. if you look at it make sure you take a friend to play "Devil's Advocate" you can look right at something bad and not want to see it, you bring your friend to help evaluate/price/inspect the car ;)

·
Super Moderator
17,540 Posts
Welcome to the Team Jesus!

The last 1967 I bought I paid a little over two thousand for it, but it was totaly rust free and it could have won a white glove concours competition easily: but then again I had just bought it brand new. That was my only second generation Nova but I haven't played with one since then so I am out of date on answering your questions.

Big Dave

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4