Chevrolet Nova Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello to all,I currently have a 1970 nova, it has a 6 cyl. im building a 600 horse 383 for it,and im just getting into nova's,not sure what major changes have to be made in the motor mount department,the cars vin says its a factory v8 car,so i'm geussing that a set of v8 motor mounts should bolt right in,but not sure,its packin a powerglide and i plan on putting in a built turbo 400,will the crossmember/tranny mount line up? i realize i will have to revamp the cooling system wich is no prob,also it has a mono leaf in the back,i have a set of competition engineering "slide a link" trackion bars,will this combo hook up with a set of street slicks on it? also not sure what headers are needed for this car,i wanted to run schoenfeld headers(my buddy has a set on his malibu drag car) but there is no listing for such headers,what is unique about these cars on the headers standpoint? not sure just lookin for some info thanks for any input!!!!
thanks-Dan 70novadisease

·
Premium Member
17,540 Posts
Dan 70novadisease

A 1970 Nova came with a 8.2" ten bolt rear end unless it was an SS car then it would have a twelve bolt and multi leaf rear springs. An 8.2" ten bolt will break with a mild 350 and slicks. You will at a minimum need to find an 8.5" "Corporate" ten bolt, or go with an aftermarket twelve bolt with everything you need already correctly installed in the new high nickel case with heavy thick wall fully welded axle tube and the C-clips replaced with 9" Ford bearings.

The 383 will bolt right up to the existing chassis frame mounts (I would replace the old existing rubber clam shell motor mount with a polyurethane one). You just have to buy the standard steel replacement clam shell style motor mount that bolts to the block.