Dash and instrument cluster - Nova Tech
Nova Tech  
Find Nova Parts at SS396.com     
GROUND UP & SS396.com         
Official Sponsor of Team Nova
   

Auto Insurance



Novas.net is the premier Chevrolet Nova Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old Nov 23rd, 16, 06:58 PM
ClassicNoob ClassicNoob is offline
Andy
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Frederiscksburg, Va
Posts: 2
ClassicNoob has a positive reputation
Default Dash and instrument cluster

Hello all,
Just picked up a 77 Nova, 250 online 6. I have 2 initial issues. 1 is there are no lights working for the instrument cluster. The other is that the gear indicator is not working. I am trying to get the instrument cluster pulled out of the dash but seem to be having difficulty. I have removed all of the screws I can find, and the cluster like it is loose. Only thing is the left side seems be tight or sticking. This is also the side with the light switch and wiper switch.
I have to be missing something, just not sure what. Do I need to pull the whole dash out?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old Nov 23rd, 16, 07:13 PM
brian oneil brian oneil is offline
Senior Tech Team *
Brian
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Smithfield, Virginia
Posts: 5,232
brian oneil has a positive reputation
Default Re: Dash and instrument cluster

I am not positive, but earlier Novas has a metal link bar connected to the indicator and the steering column. Also have you removed the speedometer cable? Sometimes simple stuff gets us...............
__________________
71 Nova
SBC 427
238/256 Girly Cam
6.88 1/8th @ 100.00mph
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Nov 23rd, 16, 07:22 PM
ClassicNoob ClassicNoob is offline
Andy
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Frederiscksburg, Va
Posts: 2
ClassicNoob has a positive reputation
Default Re: Dash and instrument cluster

Hmm...I am kinda laughing at myself a little. I have not removed the speedometer cable.
Reply With Quote
 
  #4  
Old Nov 23rd, 16, 09:08 PM
Big Dave Big Dave is online now
Site Moderator
Dave
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 17,384
Big Dave has a positive reputation
Default Re: Dash and instrument cluster

Actually Andy I was going to suggest checking the fuse labeled INST in the fuse box first. When you pop the rear brake and turn signal fuse (say by putting a boat in salt water and hitting the brakes to slide it off your float on trailer) it takes out your instrument cluster lights as well so that you will realize you have no turn signal or brake lights.

Big Dave
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
looking for dash pad, instrument cluster DuaneM Forum Classifieds 0 Jun 23rd, 16 07:46 AM
instrument cluster vinny Interiors 9 Jul 26th, 12 09:26 AM
77 Nova Instrument Cluster Sage Forum Classifieds 0 Jan 19th, 11 01:08 PM
instrument cluster lights marcelloyes Electrical & Wiring 1 Jul 18th, 09 10:28 PM
instrument cluster plug needed!!! stuper01 Electrical & Wiring 8 Jun 10th, 09 04:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:20 AM.


2009 AutoForums
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.